Tuesday 15 April 2008

Walters Prize finalists announced

The Walters Prize finalists have been announced.

They are:

Edith Amituanai for Déjeuner 2007 Anna Miles Gallery, Auckland.
Lisa Reihana for Digital Marae 2007 Govett-Brewster Gallery, New Plymouth.
John Reynolds for Cloud 2006 Biennale of Sydney, Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney.
Peter Robinson for ACK 2006 Artspace, Auckland.

For more infomation click here.

This biennial award recognises an artist who has made an outstanding contribution to contemporary art in New Zealand in the two years prior. Named in honour of artist Gordon Walters.

Let us know what you think of the nominations by leaving a comment.

Gordon Walters (1919-1995)


John Hurrell said...

Perhaps the Auckland Art Gallery needs to urgently rethink some of the processes for selecting the Walters Prize finalists. Having two Auckland curators on the panel does little to dispel charges of Auckland parochialism, especially when there are none at all from the South Island. Such apparent incestuousness is confirmed when two past candidates (both Auckland residents) are reselected. It seems Aotearoa New Zealand does not exist south of the Bombay Hills. For an award that is continually touted to be of national significance, this year's procedure has been well and truly bungled.

Anonymous said...

Shouldn't John alphabet pasta hurrell shush his silly little mouth

No one cares about the south island(s) - why should he

Sarah Eades said...

Thanks for your comment John, some good points made. I have passes it on the the people who make these decisions and am sure they will take it on board.